Lipstick on a Lip-Balm Girl

I never use lipstick. I’ve always been more of a lip-balm girl. But lately I’ve been changing habits, opening doors that I thought I’d forever closed. While I am not a person that easily does adjustments, I’ve been working hard through my flaws. I’ve done hippy outfits though they do not shape my personality that well. I’ve done bellbottom jeans and improvised t-shirts. I’ve done loose and baggy like no other at one point. Side note: You couldn’t even tell my body shape anymore. I’ve also done princess like dresses, tutu’s and….Man! Have I done skirts! All shapes, all sizes, maxi, mini, midi, sparkly, gypsy, pencil, ruffled, pleated. There are of course things I’ve NEVER done also. Things like leggings, leather pants, hoodies, colored or designed pantyhose. I’ve never ever done overalls and I haven’t done RED either. I just always thought red wasn’t my color. Diehard, iron-willed stubbornness and I’ve never worn red to the day (ok, maybe on some extremely rare, isolated occasions). But you know what? The only way to improve is to change. So I went into this store, very laid back, mind you, and I bought…what I said was cheap red lipstick – but actually turned out to be “kinda” expensive – the transfer resistant type that exfoliates the lips off your face when you try to wipe it. And since I was obviously going to wear my “new red lipstick” for a while I also bought a red skirt and matched it with a boring old burgundy sweater that I was keeping around in my closet. Gave it a moment than said: ” This goes rather well together!” All in all, I did re-purpose an old sweater, I had long forgotten about. Gave it more than a moment and red…well….”Red’s my new favorite color!” Dress me in red, paint my lips red, dye me red for all I care. I’m wearing the hell out of this tone and “Yes! I am embracing the change!” Cause’ nobody ever improved by sticking to some old, outdated common law. Moreover…no one should live without trying a new version of themselves and giving it a go. Trying out every “you” you can be….hardly ever boring!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.